Are you thinking about Withholding Rent due to a Landlord Violation? Are you a Florida Tenant that is withholding rent due to a Landlord Violation? Florida Statutes are very strict regarding a Florida Tenant’s right to withhold rent from their Landlord. Many tenants withhold rent from their Landlord, but fail to comply with Florida Statute 83.56(1). Florida Statute 83.56(1) states that if the landlord materially fails to comply with s. 83.51(1) or material provisions of the rental agreement within 7 days after delivery of written notice by the tenant specifying the noncompliance and indicating the intention of the tenant to terminate the rental agreement by reason thereof, the tenant may terminate the rental agreement. The tenant may also have the ability to withhold rent pursuant to this Florida Statute if the 7 day notice is proper.
Many Florida Tenants believe that withholding rent due to a Landlord violation is permitted under any circumstance. Unfortunately, this is not the case. A Florida Tenant must first be current on rent and the 7 Day Notice must be given at least 7 Days prior to the commencement of the next rental period. Florida Statutes have many nuances and that is why it is always recommend that you’re armed with competent Florida Eviction Counsel. Therefore, if you are a Tenant in the State of Florida that is withholding rent or planning on withholding rent due to a Landlord Violation, contact your Florida Eviction Attorneys at 954 Eviction Attorneys, PLLC today at (954) 323-2529. We are available twenty-four (24) hours a day, seven (7) days a week. We have Eviction offices in both Coral Springs and Lantana Florida in order to better serve our clients.